Memorable Moments from Oscars 2013 | SENATUS



Memorable Moments from Oscars 2013
By SENATUS News | 25 February 2013

A summary of memorable moments at the 85th Academy Awards held at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California. While female songstresses Adele and Jennifer Hudson delivered the biggest emotional punches during Sunday night's Oscars telecast, it was the award-winning men who gave the best speeches.

Between Daniel Day-Lewis, winner of the lead actor award for his role as the 16th president in "Lincoln," and Ben Affleck's emotional treatise on his career, the two men were responsible for the most carefully thought-out comments of the evening.

“Before we agreed to a straight swap, I had been committed to play Margaret Thatcher...," Day-Lewis said to raucous applause. "And Meryl was Steven’s first choice for ‘Lincoln.’ I’d like to see that version.” Read more

Affleck, who was snubbed in the director category, took to the stage as one of the producers behind best picture winner "Argo." He used his time before the microphone to expound on his wild career trajectory.

"I never thought I’d be back here and I am," said Affleck, who won his first Oscar for co-writing "Good Will Hunting" 15 years ago when he was "a kid."

After that, his career in Hollywood had many misfires before he turned it around with his foray into directing. Read more

33 Photos | View Photos

Watches & Jewelry

Hublot Big Bang MP-11 14-Day Power Reserve Water Blue Sapphire - Watches & Wonders 2024 #WatchesandWonders2024

Watches & Jewelry

Hublot Big Bang Unico Ice Bang 2024 - Watches & Wonders 2024 #WatchesandWonders2024

Entertainment & Media

McLaren-Bowers & Wilkins 60th Anniversary Limited-Edition Speaker

Entertainment & Media

Transformers: Rise of the Beasts world premiere in Singapore

Entertainment & Media

Taylor Swift | The Eras Tour hotel packages with Marina Bay Sands, Official Presenting Partner

Entertainment & Media

Natalie Portman in Chopard high jewellery at Cannes Film Festival

All Rights Reserved. SENATUS © 2024

SENATUS is a registered trademark of SENATUS PTE LTD. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or used otherwise, except as expressly permitted in writing by SENATUS.