Rolex Sydney Hobart Race prize giving ceremony | SENATUS



Rolex Sydney Hobart Race prize giving ceremony

The Rolex Sydney Hobart Race was drawn to its conclusion on 1st January, 2010 with the prize giving ceremony held at the Royal Tasmanian Yacht Club.

Alfa Romeo received Line Honors while Two True was declared the winner of the overall IRC handicap.

The ceremony was graced with the presence of the Governor as well as the Premier of Tasmania.

The ceremony was held at the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania, in Sandy Point, Hobart. The Honorable Governor of Tasmania, Peter Underwood AO and the Honorable Premier of Tasmania, David Bartlett were accompanied by their better halves at the ceremony. Also gracing the occasion was Matteo Mazzanti of Rolex Geneva (SA) along with the Commodores of the race’s organizers, Matt Allen of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and Clive Simpson of the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania.

The ceremony began with Commodore Matt Allen reading ‘The Sailor’s Farewell’, which was an ode to the two sailors, Andrew Short and Sally Gordon, who died in an accident in the Flinders Islet Race in October. After a minute’s silence in their remembrance, Matt Allen thanked Rolex and the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania, and mentioned they could not have asked for a better partner for the race than Rolex. However, after all the speeches were made, the ceremony shifted focus to prize distribution.

Two True was the first in line to receive its Tattersall’s Cup for having won the overall IRC handicap. Andy Saies was elated and thanked Rolex for its sponsorship along with the two yacht clubs associated with the race. The South Australian Winner went on to appreciate and thank his crew and boat.

RÁN, the British entry’s prize was accepted by the Australian sailor Chris Hosking as its owner Niklas Zennstrom had returned to England. Chris Hosking accepted the prize and expressed Niklas Zennstrom’s joy on competing in the race and the results. He went on to mention that Niklas Zennstrom just had a single regret, and that was not being able to arrive in Australia in time for the Rolex Trophy Rating Series.

Alfa Romeo was the center of attraction at the ceremony as Jonno Morris needed help carrying all the silverware they had won, out of the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania. Jonno Morris accepted the JH Illingworth trophy and replica on behalf of Neville Crichton. The trophy was presented to Alfa Romeo for winning Line Honors at the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race. Jonno Morris was ecstatic about the fact that all three boats that received Line Honors were McConaghy built.

The Jane Tate Memorial Trophy too was presented by her daughter Mrs. Kath Worbey at the ceremony. The trophy was presented to Rebecca Walford, the skipper of Discoverer of Hornet as she was the first female skipper to complete the race on corrected time. The Jane Tate Memorial Trophy is a perpetual award which is given in the memory of Jane Tate as she sailed in the second race and was the first woman to complete that race. Bruce Gould was also honored as he sailed his 40th race and finished 48th overall, aboard Geoff Hill’s Strewth.


Rolls-Royce celebrates 120th anniversary at 2024 Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este


Porsche announces Singapore as the location of its 11th Porsche Experience Centre


The new McLaren Artura - high-performance hybrid supercar


Bentley Extraordinary Journeys in New Zealand

All Rights Reserved. SENATUS © 2024

SENATUS is a registered trademark of SENATUS PTE LTD. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or used otherwise, except as expressly permitted in writing by SENATUS.