Fukuoka to Host Asia's First Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series | SENATUS



Reading article in: English - Japanese

Fukuoka to Host Asia's First Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series

2 June 2016
Start: 18 Nov 2016
End: 20 Nov 2016

Location: Fukuoka
Address: Japan

By Natalie White

America's Cup racing is coming to Asia for the first time in the 165-year history of this iconic event.

The Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series is scheduled to bring exciting, fast, unpredictable America's Cup racing to Fukuoka, the fifth largest city in Japan, from 18 to 20 November.

The Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series is a global circuit of events building towards the America’s Cup in Bermuda in 2017. The six America’s Cup teams are competing for points that count towards the next stage of racing, the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers.

The Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series for 2016 includes stops in Muscat, Oman; New York and Chicago, USA; Portsmouth, UK; Toulon, France; and Fukuoka, Japan.

This year also sees the participation of SoftBank Team Japan, the country's fourth challenge for the America's Cup, and its first since 1999.

"This is an incredible opportunity to showcase this compelling sport to new audiences, not only in Japan but across all of Asia," said Russell Coutts, the CEO of the 35th America's Cup.

"With the challenge from SoftBank Team Japan marking the return of Japan to the America’s Cup, enthusiasm is building for the sport in Asia. The new, foiling, flying AC45 catamarans produce exciting, exhilarating racing and show our sport at its best. This is what we are bringing to Fukuoka."

Watches & Jewelry

IWC unveils fully luminous ceramic watch case for concept watch

Watches & Jewelry

Bulgari unveils Aeterna high jewellery collection in Rome

All Rights Reserved. SENATUS © 2024

SENATUS is a registered trademark of SENATUS PTE LTD. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or used otherwise, except as expressly permitted in writing by SENATUS.